2010 Ride

Julian of Bikeway setting the P3 up in the fitting room

Last week I received my new ride for the 2010 season. It’s a 2010 Cervelo P3.  As part of my return to Bikeway as the Triathlon Expert and helping with Bikeway’s new push into the triathlon market, I’ll be riding on the P3 and the S2.  Last year I was on a Specialized Transition, which as far as shapes go, is fairly similar to the P3. Right off the bat I noticed the Cervelo is a tad lighter but, also that the stack height (the height of the front end) is much lower. Since I can barely touch my toes the headset spacers and raiser stem must stay for now.

The other thing that differs is this year Doug Cory, general manager of Bikeway, gave me the opportunity to spec out the bike. I’ll have full SRAM Force on both bicycles. I choose the Oval Concepts 701 triathlon bar so I can hone in my position. It’s on the bulky side and actually doesn’t have as much adjustment as I thought it would but I think it’s going to work out well. My biggest issue last year was the seat. Not that I was overly uncomfortable but, I also wasn’t super comfortable either. I ride the Specialized Toupe on my road bike (LOVE IT!) as I found out a long time ago I need a cut out on my seat to relieve pressure down…um…there.  Last year I was on the Specialized Tri-tip and, although that does too have a cut out, you spend most of the time on the “tip” hence the name Tri-tip. After briefly riding a ISM Adamo last year and knowing that the twins find them conformable I made sure that it was under my bottom for this season.

Rob of Bikeway listening to my obsession with lowering the weight of the bike

Anytime I do anything at Bikeway I’m always able to bounce ideas off of bike fitters Julian Glass and Mike Berretta and Head Mechanic Rob Scott. With our combined knowledge nothing goes over-looked and its that feature that makes them the best in the area. I know that when I stomp on the pedals or get into my aero bars that everything has been double checked and executed perfectly. That kind of confidence makes my job easier.

A big thanks to Doug for ordering the what I wanted and giving me the opportunity to ride for Bikeway again, to Julian for taking the time to fit me and for not listening to my bickering for a “cooler” looking position (“slam that stem!”), to Mike for overseeing the whole project, and to Rob for not only building my bike but for listening to my input to try save weight (“Do we really need a rear brake?”).

Leave a comment