Who’s The Boss?

Posted on June 8, 2010

0


No "I" in "TEAM"

That show was one of my favorites growing up but, this is about my race this weekend. The title is two-sided. First, as most of you know, I took on an extra endeavor of being the President of the newly formed cycling and triathlon team Team Bikeway.com. It’s been a fantastic exercise in improving my organizational skills but, most importantly it’s be down right motivating interacting with a plethora of individuals who all love to compete and participate in endurance sports (Run on sentence?).

Pointing at the fast time!

This weekend was the Pawling Triathlon and Team Bikeway.com flat-out represented! 14 people showed up and 14 people made me one proud jefe (Spanish for president). I wanted to make sure everyone had what they needed pre-race and tried to relieve some anxieties but, ultimately I was there to throw down and win. Last year, I was surprised to win since I knew I backed off on the run, which lead to my goal of this year; go all out the whole way and see what kind of time I can hit. Last year I went 58 min and change. Well, this year I went 54:04, had the 2nd fastest swim (Thanks Mike Trunkes!), fastest bike split (Thanks Bikeway!) and fastest run split (Thanks Shawangunk Running Co.!). As you can see in the picture above, I, uncharacteristically celebrated at the finish line. I’ve had a rough start to 2010 with injuries and stress so to have beaten my time by over 4 minutes made this guy right here extremely happy. To also have several of my Mom and Dad, sponsors and many of my friends there to witness my race — it just added that extra cherry on top!

Hamming it up for my Mom

As I said, I was very impressed with the team’s overall performance but, was very impressed with 2nd place finish Shawn Jackson’s sub 60 min performance. Shawn is a teammate of mine and does not come from an endurance sports background like I did. It’s his second year and he did awesome.

Thanks Bikeway Bicycles for the fast bike!

In 20 minutes I’ll be leaving for South Carolina to watch my brother Cory graduate from Army Reserve Boot Camp. My father and I are driving down. Hoping for a smooth trip!

One proud Momma!

Posted in: Uncategorized