Hipster Day

Posted on June 28, 2011

0


Artsy Concrete Jungle

I guess I might call it the calm before the storm. I’m heading into a really tough 2 weeks of training and I wanted to celebrate a bit prior to being Mr. Grumpy pants since I’ll be tired, hungry and just focused on the job at hand; kicking my ass thoroughly!

So, Kristine and I spent the day in the city last Friday. She had planned out the day to the minute details and it was great — like my own personal tour guide.

First up was the Alexander McQueen exhibit at the MET. The theme of the day was to have no expectations since everything was really based around Kristine. With that said, I was kind of blown away by not so much the clothing but, the overall effect and presences this individual had over people. They had snippets of quotes by him and they were truly inspiring.

You’ve got to know the rules to break them. That’s what I’m here for, to demolish the rules but keep the tradition.

-Alexander McQueen

Next up was a trendy little vegetarian restaurant. It’s interesting how many females were in this little place.  Single men in NYC should eat healthy.

Just sayin’

Ice Cream: A Blend of Old and Young

Then we went to an amazing ice cream joint. SEE: Mom and Pop Ben & Jerrys.

So good.

Angelic

Next, we saw Florence+ The Machines on the Summer Stage in Central Park. Never heard them before but, was a great show.

Last part of the day was getting home on the bus at 11:30pm. The last bus, train or flight of the day is always the least amount of fun since everyone is just exhausted and patience is short-lived. People were bitching and complaining and after traffic and two quick stops we were in my bed passed out.

As an athlete who works in the same industry as a sales person and coach, at times, life can become a “Ground Hog’s day” of sorts; each day blending into another. It was refreshing to act like a city-ite and escape work, New Paltz, training for a day, etc even if it means I have to pretend to be cool.

Some random pics:

Lights. Camera. Action.

purple haze

Clear.

Faded.

Posted in: Uncategorized