Back At It — Rev3 Maine

Posted on August 28, 2012

2


Image

Out of the saddle on one of the few hills @ Rev3 Maine

Thats right ladies and gentlemen… I’m back at it.

At what?

Well, at it.

Training well. Racing. And therefore blogging. 

I remember having a conversation with a very well known and experienced endurance athlete while in Tucson last year.

“Boys, you need to focus on training and not get caught up in chasing sponsors like Zipp, TYR, etc.”

(or something along those lines)

I was getting ready to leave for NY after getting my ASS handed to me at a 3-week Elite Training Camp. How could this guy be saying to not worry about getting sponsors? It seem odd to me at the time.

I also remember getting some advice when I turned pro from a now 5-time Ironman winner and it went something like this:

Congrats. Some unsolicited advice: 

– stay loyal to your local community. New Paltz is a great place to train and HVTC is one of the best clubs around. Make an effort to give back to the club and your local community, and that’s the best place to make good contacts. 

– save your money and spend it on REAL opportunities. Training camps with quality coaches and athletes. Do races you can drive to. Or fly cheaply to. There are a TON of races in New York/Pennsylvania/New England over the summer. Winter/early spring, look at Carolinas (Set-up events) and Florida. 

– if you want to make the money cut, the best way to do it is to be in REALLY good shape early in the season. You can jump on a lot of guys that are focused on Kona/Vegas 70.3/etc. if you are at full speed in April/May. I made some decent money my first year as a pro (2006) at Powerman Alabama & Florida 70.3 by being really fit for those races. You can schedule some downtime in June/July so you don’t get burnt out. And then focus again on races in September when other folks are focusing on Kona/Vegas 70.3. It’s good to do a couple races where you race the big boys when they’re going fast. But it’s also important to race them when they aren’t going fast so you can actually be in the race and hopefully make a bit of cash in the process. 

– Commit to it. As much as a “long view” is important, it’s also important not to BS yourself. You’ll be happier, IMO, if you give it 100% for a year and see what it gets you than trying to piecemeal it together by working way too much, etc. because you are “developing.” Be a pro or don’t. You’ll get what you invest. If you invest 25%, it’s gonna take you four years – at best – to get what you could have gotten with a year of 100%. Be willing to take the risk. Otherwise you’ll never know what could have been if you had. 

– Have fun 

Looking back he wasn’t that far off what the first guy said.

You’d think I’d listen whole-heartedly ::sigh::

While looking back I didn’t commit 100% last year. Some months I did. Others I didn’t. I overtrained and was down and out. I promised myself a more committed approach this summer and I feel like REV3 Maine was a promising showing for what is to come from me.

Highlights:

  • Superfan Heidi Richards, a long-time friend from Marist, hooked me up the whole weekend. She showed me around, talked about everything Maine including “BMW’s” (Big Maine Women — haha!), and arranged an amazing homestay with her friends Yvonne and Bob.
  • Yvonne and Bob, my homestay, were so accommodating and real its was, well, unreal. They feed me, told great stories, left me alone when I need to relax , brought me to a post-race party with friends, and took me surfing the day after. I kind of miss them already.
  • Race venue – I heard from multiple sources that Old Orchard Beach was like the Jersey Shore of Maine and it kind of was but, it made the venue feel upbeat and happening. I like that. The swim course was in the ocean but the water was so clear and calm it was amazing. Bike and run course were on rolling quiet rides. Loved it!
  • Race day – Pr’d the swim, bike, and had a solid run (5th fastest). I lost the feet of the second pack which was frustrating but I stayed positive and reminded myself 1) This is my first race so you’re a bit rusty, 2) I’m here to push really hard so let’s go!, and 3) I haven’t done any Olympic-type efforts so its going to hurt — accept it and embrace the pain.

A big thanks to Bikeway Bicycles for the equipment and giving me the time and space to train hard this summer, Dr. Ness at Performance Sports and Wellness for the bodily TLC to keep my body in one piece, to Mitch Greene of Greene Psych who keeps my mind in one piece, Doug Thompson of Main Street Bistro for keeping me fed with the best (and cheapest) breaky around, Champion System for the awesome clothing, Catherine and Jason of NY Superfoods for the Chia Chargers, Dr. Mike Halstead of Lake Katrine Animal Hospital for keeping my dogs healthy, and many others who have and continue to support me by commenting or liking my posts on Facebook or by simply saying hello and encouraging me to keep keeping on!

Next up:

REV3 Cedar Point Full (aka Ironman!)

Posted in: Uncategorized